top of page

Tiles: Gloucester Cathedral

The track recorded in the Cathedral Chapter House is instrumental, the strings do the talking. After listening to the rehearsals, I wandered out to St. Oswald’s Priory with the music playing through my mind. The view of the Cathedral from the Priory caught my attention.

I thought back to Æthelflaed’s time, before the Cathedral was built. As I created the artwork, a translucent image of the Cathedral emerged. Like a reverse echo, a premonition of what was to come, as if Æthelflaed could be looking forward through time. The Long Now.

The alternatives for this tile were mainly colour variations of the same image, sometimes I inverted the paint direction for a different effect. The final image is a departure into silhouette and watercolour and I think it's George's favourite image of the series. I hope so anyway because I gifted him one of my art blocks with that print on it when Spaces launched! The blue and yellow versions, along with the watercolour are available for sale in the Cathedral and Tourist Info shops, as well as in my etsy shop. The watercolour has proved very popular and I'm just about to order more stock!

bottom of page