top of page

Reflecting on the exhibition

Last month I was finally able to exhibit the original artwork from my book, 'The God Who Gave You Birth' at Discover DeCrypt in Gloucester. Placing them in that ancient, sacred space felt right. It felt like they were coming home.


We dotted them around the church along with prayers and information on the images. The hope was that people would come across them as they looked round the church and maybe stay with them a while, to contemplate.



I slipped into the church a few weeks into the exhibition to experience it as a visitor. These images that had been with me so long, from inception through to publication and beyond, and now a chance to encounter them, as if for the first time. Some of my favourite images were placed up near the alter and I stayed with them a while, paying my respects.



I saw others wander round and I resisted the urge to make myself known to them and eagerly ask them for their thoughts! I hope for a connection between the viewer and the artwork that is out of my hands.


The month drew to a close and I commandeered my family to help take the artworks down and pack them away. My youngest daughter eagerly rushed up the wooden stairs to the pulpit and demanded that all bow before her! Celebrating in her own way the fact that women are now welcomed in this space and can legitimately stand up and lead.


The church had 1,240 visitors through the door during the exhibition. Jess Gordon, the Community, Arts and Events Manager from Discover DeCrypt, said,


"It was a pleasure to have Eloise’s beautiful and thought-provoking images on display, together with her commentaries and prayers. The exhibition attracted the attention of visitors and we had many positive comments. A number of visitors returned in order either to look at the pictures again or to bring friends or family. Our volunteers reported that the images sparked interesting conversations with visitors."


Some of the feedback from those who saw the exhibition included:


“Wonderful paintings. They go so well in the church.”


“The prayers are beautiful. I wish they were on postcards to buy.”


"It’s a very interesting view of God. We don’t think enough about women in the Bible.”


“Beautiful illustrations. I’m going to buy the book for my grandchildren.”


“A very interesting exhibition. Thank you.”


“Lovely. Such powerful pictures. I liked seeing what the artist said, her thoughts and why she thought of doing the pictures like that. Very interesting.”


“You should keep them up. They’re very inspirational.”


“I’m so glad to see somebody thinking about things from a woman’s point of view.”


“They’re beautiful.”



I had offers from people wishing to buy the artwork, for which I was grateful. However, I want the collection to stay together. The artwork is packed and stored now, ready to be displayed in other churches and spaces, ready to create space for more questions and contemplation.


With thanks to Nikki and Jess for your support, to all the volunteers at DeCrypt and to the Diocese of Gloucester.

bottom of page