top of page

Origami Bird


By one of those serendipitous moments, I had just been reacquainting myself with how to fold an origami bird when George and Shane of The Powdered Earth invited me to sketch a few images to illustrate their soulful, gentle track - Origami Bird. It was clearly meant to be!

As I've come to realise, drawing from memory or imagination is hard! So I used a mixture of photos (some taken by Shane) and an artist model app to put together the images I'd use to illustrate the song. I worked digitally using Autodesk SketchBook and made the decision to use a monochrome pallet.

My two favourite images (because it was fun trying to work out the right positions of the figures from overhead to create the right shadows) illustrate the lines, "Echoes cast long shadows..."

"...But they're devils in disguise."

My eldest daughter and I overcame our frustration at relearning how to fold paper cranes and ended up making a whole string of them! Sketching out ideas for this track and folding tricky bits of paper kept me entertained for a while, I recommend them to you as lockdown activities!

My youngest daughter inspired the sketch for the sun at the beginning, and quite rightly is demanding credit. So here it is.

bottom of page