top of page

Saying Yes

So, as promised I'm starting the new year by blogging about some of the people I've bumped into during my creative year. Sometimes all it takes is a little encouragement to get you on your way. Finding my way back into creativity has not been a solo journey, it's involved numerous little kindnesses from friends along the way. Shout out to friends who've lent me art books, come to art workshops with me, encouraged me and bought my work!

After the daydreaming, the inspiration and the doing that conjures an artwork into being comes the vulnerable bit, the sharing! It's a scary time but there's much to be gained from sharing and the conversations that follow. It's one of my favourite bits of the creative process - the to and fro between viewer and creator, sparking new thoughts in both.

At the beginning of last year I was working on the Spaces Project with my friend George Moorey. I had been surprised, honoured and daunted by his invitation to make some art for his project. At that point I hadn't yet dared to call myself an artist! George is generous with his welcome and with his vision, allowing the artists and musicians around him to interpret things in their own way, a process that often leads to richer outcomes. I remember sitting in an ancient church on a cold winters night as the magic unfolded around me. The musicians and singers warmed up as tea lights twinkled around them and I smiled to myself as I counted all the people that had said 'yes' to George and were now helping his idea to take shape.

This post is a thank you to George for inviting me to take part in his creative collaboration, for being a friend full of interesting conversation and inspiring ideas, and for introducing me to Aethelflaed! My icon painting of Aethelflaed has become a trademark of sorts for Elluminations, the name I create my artwork under. George arranged for a five meter version of the painting to be displayed on the side of the Cathedral, seeing that and taking part in the Aethelflaed weekend was a highlight for me last year.

George is dreaming and planning as I type this. Check out his site to keep up with his new projects...

And I can't finish this post without a shout out to George's wife - Nic! The way George tells it, it was she who triggered the first seed of an idea that blossomed into Spaces. She and I often share words of encouragement with each other and she's ace at business advice I've discovered! She blogs too.

bottom of page