top of page

Art For Health

Around Springtime last year I started volunteering for Art Shape. I was thinking about a new direction for myself and wanted to pick up some skills. My background and training has been in Social Care but I was beginning to feel pulled by my re interest in creativity. Linking the two seemed like a satisfying fit to me and, as luck would have it, Art Shape were about to run a course called 'Art for Health'. I immediately signed up for it, this time as a learner rather than a volunteer (I appreciated someone else making the tea!).

We met over several weeks at City Works (home to the fab Scrap Store!) and learnt about group dynamics, learning styles and the role art and creativity can play in well being. But by far my favourite bits were getting to try out lots of different arts and crafts! We made scrap books, looked at 'altered books' technique and watercolour.

We were in good hands with Jo Teague as the tutor and our paths have crossed several times since (she can turn her hand to most things!) We gelled early on as a group and the sessions quickly became a supportive and creative outlet. We keep in touch a year later and I'm following my fellow learners paths with interest (some of us have gone on to uni, helped run craft sessions, started up businesses, performed with theatre groups and written an illustrated book).

The final two sessions were given over to us, the learners, to practise leading - it was up to us to choose a technique to share with the group. The finished list was impressively eclectic. We looked at things like ink pulling, point art, sacred geometry, tassel making, pom pom making, air dry clay creations, bin bag bunting, fingerprint art and making a pinhole camera (my session!).

Art for Health has a new programme of courses starting this month as well as an exhibition on at Gloucester Cathedral - go check them out :-) I'll leave you with a photo of the class of '18!

Class of 2018

bottom of page