top of page

...the big reveal

I'm excited (and a bit nervous!) to share with you - The God Who Gave You Birth.

Springing from my faith and feminism, it's the culmination of years of soul searching, contemplation, writing, thinking, reading, talking, listening and creating. And all this is distilled into a book that will be available soon. The first copy should arrive hot off the press this week!

The book is filled with my artwork illustrating some of the female imagery used to describe God found in the Bible and church history. I'll get into the musings and wonderings that led me to this place over a series of blog posts but this poem is a good place to start. I wrote it back in 2013 as I navigated life without my Mum, through pregnancy and illness I longed for maternal comfort...

Pregnancy began this

In amongst the sickness, the wild joy of creation unfurled within me

Some small inkling of how it might feel to be the source of all life?

Growing large with the baby inside me, nourishing her with my own body

Flesh of my flesh

Sinking into labour and bringing forth life through blood and tears

Then feeding my baby, my daughter, with my own milk

How can this not speak to us of God – Mother God?

We are all made in your image

If pregnancy began this, then

Cancer deepened it

Through terror and pain, I needed my mother (long dead)

I called out to you

And your silence was all encompassing

The certainties weaved through childhood came undone

Finding you through the exhilaration of creating new life

And then losing you through frailty and suffering

I sunk into Holy Saturday and the time of unknowing

I met you in the silence of a labyrinth

“I am in you”, you said

We are all made in your image

But unpicking the threads of old understandings is a precarious business

Too easy to fall through the gaps

And yet, I yearn to move further,

To catch a glimpse of God

My Mother.

And this is where you come in... I need at least 30 pre orders to help cover the costs of publishing. So, if you'd like to support me, if you like my artwork, if you're intrigued with the concept, if faith or feminism or curiosity is your thing then I hope you consider ordering a bundle or two!

The book it's available to pre order now from my Etsy shop. There are a couple of options, the book is on sale for £8.99 or you can order the bundle for £12.99 which includes the book and five 7x5" postcards with images from the book.

Please share with friends, family, churches or groups you think would find it interesting. I'll keep you updated with shipping dates. I'm excited to share the book with you and look forward to the conversations it might spark - as always, thanks for your support and encouragement!

Big love, el x

bottom of page