top of page

Round the Blue

The stories we tell are so important - my art is sparked by stories.

Working with George and Shane of Powdered Earth is often about sharing stories and seeing how they shape us. Listening to their lyrics and hearing the stories behind them inspires me. This is the artwork for 'Round the Blue', the first single of their lockdown project, and also the album title.

This track was originally called 'Chains of love' which in turn reminded me of the concept of 'the Long Now'. And this is what I thought of when considering the chains of love stretching out behind us and before us, including all those who have already departed, and those yet to come.

As those who are familiar with my work may know, I love the use of halos in art - It makes the spiritual visible, reminding us that we are not 'mere mortals'. So, I combined these ideas and designed a sun/halo in varying shades of gold. It's a digital collage, like the rest of the artwork for this project, making use of scans of gel prints I've previously made. It may look like there are breaks in the circles of the halo, but they are all just different shades of gold emanating out from the centre, which, with my theology, could represent God. And is also reminiscent of the ancients who used to worship the sun as the source of life.

bottom of page